Indie-pendence Day…A Celebration of our Indie Authors

As a part of the Indie-Pendence Day Blog I am interviewing the  Kentucky Indie Author Hallee Bridgeman.

Where did the idea for the book/series come from? I heard it went through a big change along the way…but you don’t have to talk about that.

I’m not really a book planner. I get a general idea, kind of like an abstract idea, then I start writing and the story forms. I had a thought of a woman who had to work two jobs to support her family, who was exhausted and angry, but I didn’t know anything about Robin or the story until it unfolded. I really, really, got excited when the plot became clear to me and the story just took off from there.

How long have you been writing?

I started writing in 1999. I spent great chunks of time not writing, though. I wrote for a couple of years, then shelved everything and didn’t pick it back up again until 2009.

What other books are in the series?

Emerald Fire is the story of the middle sister, Maxine.
Topaz Heat is the story of the youngest sister, Sarah.

What do you find challenging about writing? What comes easily?

Laying out the bones of the story is easy for me. I write very quickly and can see the scenes in my head. I don’t worry about style or rules, I just write and write and get the story out. The hard part is going back through and fleshing it out, adding better descriptions, more thoughts, more feelings. Because I can see it so clearly in my head, I have a hard time distinguishing what the reader will know, not know, and will assume and tend to put too little rather than too much. This is where my husband is such a great value to me. He helps me edit the work and really makes it shine.

You write romance, where’s the sex! How do you set your guidelines?

We have strict guidelines in our home for our entertainment consumption. One of those is that there cannot be any premarital or extramarital sex (unless it’s historically accurate), nor can there be any gratuitous sex or sexuality (in the case of historic accuracy and/or married sex). Because we don’t consume it, I don’t write it. In my next book, the couple will be married rather early in the story, and they will be very much in love and have a very healthy sex life. The reader will just not be a part of it. That said, reviewers have called scenes with these books as “toe curlers”, so I’ve managed to incorporate the love and longing of romance without crossing any personal boundaries.

How do you classify your books? How does it differ from traditional romance/ Christian romance?

My books are classified as “edgy”, because I tend to write very real stories with real life in them. When the typical “Christian romance” is thought of, it’s very nice, very gentle. My books aren’t typically like that. However, unlike a lot of “edgy” Christian authors, my intent is not to toe any kind of line or even cross a line. If my characters sin, their sins aren’t going to be glorified. But, chances are, readers will be able to relate to them.

Are any of the characters in Sapphire Ice based on you? Who do you most relate to? Robin?

I don’t think so. I’ve never thought of it. I’m not certain any female character I’ve ever written could really be based on me, though I’m sure we all share some elements.

Is your husband really Tony? 😛

How funny you should ask that. I wrote these books a couple of years before I met my husband. But, like I said, he helps me write and he definitely helps me write male point of view and he helped me edit this book. His sister had a hard time getting into this particular book, because she said that Tony was like reading about her little brother. So, it’s likely that a lot of my husband is in Tony, though that wasn’t my intent going into it.

Will we see Derrick again?

Derrick is the hero in book 3

What about Robin’s dad?

Only in a mention in the epilogue.

If you would like to find out more about Hallee Bridgeman you can find her and her books on the links below.

Blog Facebook TwitterGoogle+
Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, Goodreads

Sign up to participate in the blog hop that celebrates Indie authors!

1. Jessie Harrell 27. Donna McDonald 53. Rick Daley
2. Karen Amanda Hooper 28. Hallee Bridgeman 54. Cherie Reich
3. Susan Kaye Quinn 29. Diane Strong 55. Dalya Moon
4. Laura Pauling 30. Hayden Braeburn 56. A.E. Howard
5. Connie Keller 31. Remy @ Reading with A Broken Heart 57. JM Madden
6. Sandra Ulbrich Almazan 32. Katherine Lowry Logan 58. Christine Fonseca, Author
7. Cindy Hogan 33. Jesse V Coffey 59. Jamie Manning, Author
8. Lisa Nowak 34. Teresa Reasor 60. Laura Diamond
9. RaShelle Workman 35. Susan Ricci 61. Nicole Singer
10. Stacey Wallace Benefiel 36. Ashna @ Wanted Readers 62. Indie Children’s Authors Connection
11. Magan Vernon 37. Cate Dean 63. Heather Simone
12. Liz Long 38. Anna Kyss 64. Cory Putman Oakes
13. Angela Brown 39. R.M. Prioleau 65. Jenny Krueger
14. Heather McCorkle 40. Deanna Roy 66. Carolyn Brown
15. Megg Jensen 41. Courtney Vail 67. Gin @ Addicted to Words
16. Christy @ Captivated Reading 42. Michael Whetzel 68. Beth Dolgner
17. Kimber Shook 43. Mackenzie Morgan 69. Paranormal Book Beat
18. Kai Strand 44. Paige Aspen 70. Medeia Sharif
19. ali cross 45. Suzan Tisdale 71. Bisi Leyton
20. Stephanie Queen 46. Dani @ Refracted Light 72. Michael Abayomi
21. Laura A. H. Elliott 47. Doug Solter 73. C.K. Bryant
22. DeAnna Knippling 48. Alli (mrscaptkirk51) 74. Erynn Newman
23. Meredith Bond 49. Ramblings of an Amateur Writer 75. Robyn Safarian
24. Patricia Lynne 50. Pamela DuMond 76. LM Preston
25. Karen Victoria Smith 51. Brooke 77. Wayne L. White
26. Amy Durham 52. Nickie Anderson

(Submissions close in 4d 2h 37m)

URL: (URL of your blog post)
Name:
Email: (Not visible)
Trouble linking up? Try here
One thought on “Indie-pendence Day…A Celebration of our Indie Authors

Leave a Reply

