This is an old blog but since I have new followers I thought it would be worth repeating. That and I will be kicking off some more serious (yeah right) running blogs in the near future. Why do you run?

The Running Commentary

ImageWhy I Run

Occasionally I am asked why I run.  I have been accused of being a little obsessive about it.  The answer is simple: to make me appreciate walking.

In a sentence; running makes my life more intense.  While many people seek a numbness, to block out the routine of life, I run to make it more meaningful.

The slightly uncomfortable feeling of running just a little faster than your body would like to, makes the act of walking seem a little more heavenly.  And the sense of accomplishment lingers long after the run has stopped.  So as silly as it sounds, running makes you appreciate walking. 

It also makes you appreciate bathing.  There is nothing like a shower after a long run.  There are no routine showers in a runner’s life.  We don’t jump in and rinse off in order to wake up.  We actually need a shower. …

View original post 507 more words

Leave a Reply

